Recipes

Macaroni and Cheese

macandcheese

Baby, it’s getting cold outside. Brrr… what’s better than jumping into your flannel pj’s, power watching some of your favorite shows on Netflix, and curling up to some comfort food?  Not just any comfort food but the queen of them all… warm and gooey macaroni and cheese!

You’re totally with me, right?

This week has me thinking of all things Thanksgiving.  Is it any wonder that it’s my favorite holiday filled with delicious carbs, plates loaded to the rim, and nap inducing turkey?  At work we’re having a potluck, and I signed up to bring this delicious gooey, cheesy, buttery dish!

While I must admit that this dish isn’t overly complicated to make the trick is getting the right amount of moisture, since the macaroni noodles will absorb any of the liquid and dry out.  Dried macaroni and cheese is a no please.  So, when I want to make some earlier than I need to… ahh-hummm…. like a work potluck I need to try and get the texture just right and keep the sauce loose enough to reheat properly.

When I thought about bringing this to our work potluck I didn’t even think about cheating and grabbing boxes of the instant orange powdered stuff.  Not gonna lie and say that Wegman’s gourmet grocery stores pick-up and heat didn’t cross my mind, but then I came back to reality!  It makes me so happy to make something I love and give it to others, especially when I’m proud that I made it. Move aside boxed and premade macaroni and cheese… I’m-a-gonna-crush-ya with my homemade one.

Whenever I have a craving for macaroni and cheese I need to have this recipe right here.  There’s no comparison between the boxed instant powder cheese stuff and this decadent homemade with all natural ingredients.

macandcheese358square

Ingredients:

1 lb box of elbow macaroni

3 Tbl. All purpose flour

2 cups of heated milk

1 stick of unsalted butter (8 tablespoons)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

6 cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Topping Suggestions:

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese or 1 cup of bread crumbs mixed with 3 tablespoons of melted butter.

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350 F.
  • Prepare a large casserole dish (11×7) with a light coating of oil or butter. Set aside.
  • Bring a large pot of water to boil.
  • Add macaroni and allow to boil uncovered for about 10 minutes or till pasta is done.  Drain pasta and set aside.
  • In the same large pot melt butter on medium low heat. Add the flour and cornstarch. Stir till smooth, then over medium heat continue stirring mixture for about 5 minutes until it turns a light golden color.
  • Slowly add milk and whisk till all of the milk has been incorporated.
  • Season with salt and nutmeg. Mix in cheese and continue stirring till cheese mixture is smooth.
  • Add reserved pasta, and mix well.
  • In the prepared casserole dish add macaroni and cheese mixture.
  • Top with additional shredded cheese or bread crumbs.
  • Bake uncovered for 30 minutes.
  • If additional browning is needed put under broiler till desired color.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

